With Winter Fast Approaching…

Now that we have passed Thanksgiving, the height of fall fashion, what do we do now? Winter is fast approaching so it’s time to start winding down the autumnal tones and dive into deep blues, somber grays, and, of course, black.

I have always felt that winter is the best season for fashion. Deep dark colors create a mysterious culture of fashion fanatics, everyone looks so serious, so runway ready. People bring out coats– from a classic Burberry to a trendy 2015 Runway Helmut Lang. Everyone just looks incredible.

mcq-alexander-mcqueen-2014-2015-fall-autumn-winter-fashion-mens-mode-paris-masculine-patchwork-denim-jeans-holes-knit-biker-bomber-leopard-bear-razorblades-02x
Alexander McQueen Winter ’15

I think winter also has some of the most creative fashion. Winter gives you a chance to express yourself without the use of colors, like spring, summer, and fall, but through cuts and fabrics and everything in between. I feel like my creativity shines during this season, because you have to use more than just colors to convey a thought or idea.

I like to think I’m a very happy guy, so let’s say I want to convey that I’m happy through my clothes. Instead wearing a yellow t-shirt or something, I would chose to wear a playfully styled wardrobe, such as a black denim jumpsuit or even a pair of overalls.

Roberto-Cavalli-Men-Fall-Winter-2015-Collection-Milan-Fashion-Week-031
Roberto Cavalli Winter ’15

While so many people seem to look somber, monotone, and dark, try to look past the colors of their outfits and into another faction of fashion. Cuts and fabrics can make or break a fashion line, and they play into more than you would think. You can shine with satin, find sexiness with sheer lace or a plunging fur, or you can convey sadness through large oversized layers such as coats and extra long line t-shirts.

Winter is the perfect time to play with fashion. So what are you going to do? Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “With Winter Fast Approaching…

What do you think? Leave a reply here!